Do it Stronger

What helps WS Steel engineers like Ellery Burton turn rigid metal panels into secure, heavy-duty medical cabinets that meet the high standards of a hospital setting? A tape from 3M that makes innovative fabrication possible.

View Video

When WS Steel’s Director of Operations asked for a creative solution for cutting costs and reducing labour on their custom cabinets, Ellery was quick to identify an opportunity in the welding process.

“We picked out the spot welding, because it required us to basically do bodywork for five to six hours on the cabinets … and at $30 an hour that starts to get expensive.”

- Ellery Burton

By replacing spot welds with 3M™ VHB™ Tape, WS Steel was able to reduce their costs by 20%, offering their customers a superior product without compromising the strength of traditional welds.

 

But the benefits didn’t stop there. Prior to using 3M™ VHB™ Tape, WS Steel was able to produce only one cabinet per day. With the tape they’re able to prep the parts beforehand, allowing them, as Ellery says, “to produce approximately four cabinets per day because the parts are ready to be adhered as soon as the customer places an order … this product is amazing!”

What Ellery hadn’t anticipated was the impact using 3M™ VHB™ Tape would have on the employees. It reduced the use of chemicals and the need for special safety gear—with 3M™ VHB™ Tape there are no chemicals to mix or store, providing a cleaner workspace.

HOW IT WORKS

The tape bonds the metal panels together, creating a continuous adhesion that rivals most welds. It produces a smooth finish. Plus, it’s stronger and longer-lasting than most rivets and spot welds, which weaken the material they fasten.

The revolutionary 3M tape not only significantly increased WS Steel’s productivity, it also got people excited about the end result. As Ellery says, “now others in the organization are asking the question, how can we use 3M™ VHB™ Tape to fabricate other products?”

Contact a 3M Technical Specialist for product, technical or application advice and to get assistance finding the right 3M™ VHB™ Tape for your project.

  • Maintains complete bond for 10 years submerged in both tap and 5% salt water
  • Securely bonds in extreme temperatures between 150°F (66°C) and -40°F (-40°C) *

* Source: 3M Internal study available on file.

Ask an expert Customer Service: 1-800-364-3577 Customer Service: 1-800-364-3577
Other 3M Sites:
Partner portal
Follow Us
Change Location
Canada - English | Français

Encore plus fort

Qu’est ce qui peut aider les ingénieurs de WS Steel comme Ellery Burton à transformer de rigides panneaux de métal en un robuste et sécuritaire cabinet médical rencontrant les standards établis par un hôpital? Un ruban de 3M qui permet la fabrication de produits novateurs.

Quand le directeur des opérations a demandé des solutions créatives visant à réduire les coûts et la main d’œuvre pour la production de leurs armoires faites sur mesure, Ellery a rapidement identifié une belle opportunité dans le processus de soudure.

« Nous avons identifié l’étape de la soudure, pare qu’elle requiert un travail manuel de 5 à 6 heures par cabinet… et à 30$ l’heure, ça élève les couts considérablement. »

- Ellery Burton

En remplaçant les points de soudure par du Ruban 3M VHB, WS Steel a été capable de réduire ses coûts de 20 %, offrant ainsi à ses clients un produit de qualité sans compromettre la résistance d’une soudure traditionnelle.

 

Mais ce n’est pas tout! Avant de commencer à utiliser le ruban VHB de 3M, WS Steel n’était capable de produire qu’un seul cabinet par jour. Avec l’ajout du ruban, ils peuvent préparer les pièces à l’avance, leur permettant, comme nous le confie Ellery, « de produire environ quatre cabinets par jour, car les pièces sont prêtes à être assemblées dès que le client place sa commande. Ce produit est génial! »

Ce qu’Ellery n’avait pas prévu, ce sont les répercussions résultant de l’utilisation du ruban VHB de 3M sur les employés. En réduisant l’utilisation de produits chimiques et d’équipement de sécurité spécial (avec le ruban VHB de 3M, nul besoin de mélanger ou d’entreposer des produits chimiques) on obtient ainsi un environnement de travail plus sain et plus propre.

COMMENT ÇA MARCHE?

Le ruban relie les panneaux de métal ensemble, créant ainsi une adhésion en continu qui rivalise avec la plupart des soudures ordinaires. Il produit une finition bien lisse. De plus, il dure beaucoup plus longtemps et est plus résistant que la plupart des rivets et points de soudure qui affaiblissent les matériaux qu’ils attachent.

Le révolutionnaire ruban 3M a augmenté de façon significative la productivité de WS Steel et ses employés furent ravis des résultats finaux. Comme le dit si bien Ellery : « les gens de notre entreprise s’interrogent maintenant à savoir comment utiliser le ruban VHB de 3M pour la fabrication d’autres produits. »

webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No

Contactez un technicien spécialisé 3M pour savoir quel ruban VHB 3M est le mieux adapté à vos projets.

  • Reste bien attaché pour une période de 10 ans complètement immergé dans de l’eau du robinet et 5% d’eau salée
  • Demeure sécuritairement en place à des chaleurs extrêmes variant entre 150°F (66°C) and -40°F (-40°C) *

* Source: Étude interne de 3M – fichier disponible.

Avis d’expert Service à la clientèle: 1-800-364-3577 Service à la clientèle: 1-800-364-3577
Autres Sites de 3M
Portail des partenaires
Suivez-nous
Changement de lieu
Canada - English | Français