Isocyanate

Isocyanates

Smelling the sweet, pungent, fruity scent of isocyanates is an indication you're over exposed though you cannot rely on smell alone. The raw materials that make up all polyurethane products are designed to create synthetic rubbers, foams, and weather-proof coatings such as the paint on your car. Though the chemical compound of isocyanates play an important role in manufacturing, they are extremely hazardous when inhaled.

  • Dangers

    The major hazard with spraying polyurethane paints is breathing the mist or aerosol droplets and vapours of the paint spray and inhaling the isocyanate and other components into your lungs.

  • Long term exposure may lead to:

    Sensitization may develop as a result of a large single overexposure, for example, from a spill or accident, or from repeated overexposure at lower levels. Once sensitized, these people, when later exposed to even very low concentrations of isocyanates even at levels below the exposure standard, can react by developing asthma-like symptoms, such as chest tightness, cough, wheezing and shortness of breath.

  • Protection against isocyanates

    Protection against isocyanates

    The issue with use of air purifying respirators is that they will reach a point at which the filter becomes saturated and will no longer capture the isocyanate or other solvents. When that filter breakthrough happens, an overexposure can occur, potentially causing an irreversible sensitization. Use of a supplied air respirator removes this filter change factor - it does not rely on the painter changing their gas/vapour cartridges and filters at appropriate intervals.

Technical Assistance: 1-800-267-4414 Technical Assistance: 1-800-267-4414 Customer Service: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577) Customer Service: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577)
Other 3M Sites:
Partner Portal
Follow Us
3M, 3M Science. Applied to Life., E-A-R, Peltor, Optime, Versaflo, Adflo, Vflex, and Speedglas are trademarks of 3M. Used under license in Canada.
Change Location
Canada - English | Français

Isocyanate

Isocyanates

Si vous pouvez sentir l’odeur sucrée, piquante et fruitée des isocyanates, cela signifie que vous êtes surexposé, mais vous ne pouvez compter sur l’odorat seul. Les matières premières qui constituent tous les produits à base de polyuréthane sont conçues pour créer des caoutchoucs synthétiques, des mousses et des enduits à l’épreuve des intempéries, comme la peinture sur votre véhicule. Même si les isocyanates jouent un rôle important dans la fabrication, ils sont extrêmement dangereux lorsqu’ils sont inhalés.

  • Dangers

    Le risque le plus important de la pulvérisation de peintures à base de polyuréthane est de respirer le brouillard, les gouttelettes et les vapeurs du jet de peinture et d’inhaler les isocyanates et autres composants.

  • Une exposition à long terme peut causer :

    une sensibilisation qui peut se former à la suite d’une seule surexposition, par exemple, un déversement ou un accident, ou à cause d’une surexposition répétée à des concentrations inférieures. Une fois sensibilisées, ces personnes, lorsqu’elles sont par la suite exposées même à de très basses concentrations d’isocyanates inférieures à la norme de l’exposition, peuvent réagir en manifestant des symptômes semblables à ceux de l’asthme, comme une oppression thoracique, de la toux, une respiration sifflante et un essoufflement.

  • Protection contre les isocyanates

    Protection contre les isocyanates

    Le problème avec l’utilisation des respirateurs d’épuration d’air est qu’ils atteindront un point auquel le filtre devient saturé et ne peut plus contenir les isocyanates ou d’autres solvants. Lorsque cela se produit, il peut s’ensuivre une surexposition, ce qui peut causer une sensibilisation irréversible. L’utilisation d’un respirateur à adduction d’air élimine ce facteur de changement de filtre. Ce respirateur ne dépend pas du changement du filtre contre les gaz et les vapeurs à des intervalles appropriés par le peintre.

Assistance technique: 1-800-267-4414 Assistance technique: 1-800-267-4414 Service à la clientèle: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577) Service à la clientèle: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577)
Autres Sites de 3M
Portail des partenaires
Suivez-nous
3M, 3M Science. Au service de la Vie. et toutes les autres marques de commerce indiquées sont des marques de commerce de 3M.
Changement de lieu
Canada - English | Français