A microscopic image of asbestos.

Asbestos

Some forms of carcinogens may surprise you.

Used for insulation and fire protection up until the 1970s, the natural fibres of asbestos are now known to lead to respiratory illnesses. The material can still be found in cement, wallboard, pipes, textured paints, and air ducts, leaving workers susceptible to exposure.

Download the technical guide
webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No
webLoaded = "false"

Products to protect against asbestos

webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No

* An occupational exposure limit (OEL) is the generic term for a concentration to a chemical, physical or biological substance that is believed a worker can be exposed day after day for a working lifetime without adverse health effects.

webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No

Dangers of asbestos

 

When materials that contain asbestos are disturbed, fibres can become airborne, leading to the potential risk of exposure.

 

  • Asbestosis

    Fibrosis of the lungs can be caused by asbestos exposure. Symptoms may include shortness of breath and cough. The disease is often difficult to diagnose as symptoms develop slowly over time. 

  • Lung cancer

    Individuals who smoke and are exposed to asbestos have a greater risk of developing lung cancer than non-smokers who are exposed to asbestos. The combination of exposures may create multiplicative effects.

  • Mesothelioma

    A cancer of the lining of the lung mostly caused by asbestos exposure. It seldom occurs within 15 years of exposure and most often after more than 30 years of exposure. Mesothelioma appears to be strongly dependent on the type of asbestos exposure.



  • A person in coveralls, a hard hat, safety glasses, and a respirator working in a building with asbestos. He is taping plastic sheeting.

    Protection against asbestos

    All respirator suggestions contained herein are based on data we believe to be reliable, but the accuracy or completeness thereof is not guaranteed. There is no representation, warranty, guarantee or other obligation of 3M or its employees arising out of these suggestions. 3M shall not be liable for any loss and/or damage, whether direct, indirect, incidental, special or consequential arising out the sale, use or misuse of 3M Personal Safety products or the user's inability to use such product. No respirator is capable of preventing all airborne contaminants from entering the breathing zone of the wearer. Respirators can help reduce certain airborne contaminant concentrations in the breathing zone to below the applicable Occupational Exposure Limit (OEL)* for your jurisdiction. Misuse of respirators may result in overexposure to the contaminant and cause sickness or death. Proper respirator selection, training and use are mandatory in order for the wearer to be properly protected. Use and Selection of respirators must be in accordance with the authority having jurisdiction in your country or province. Use of the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) standard Z94.4 may be used for further guidance in the selection of appropriate respirators or call 3M Technical Service at 1-800-267-4414.


webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No

References

  1. Asbestos bans around the world, Asbestos Nation (2016). Retrieved from http://www.asbestosnation.org/facts/asbestos-bans-around-the-world/ on Sept. 21, 2016.
  2. The National Occupational Classification, Government of Canada (2016), Retrieved from http://www5.hrsdc.gc.ca/NOC/English/NOC/2011/SearchIndex.aspx on Sept. 21, 2016.
  3. Asbestos. Workplace Safety & Prevention Services (2014-2015). Retrieved from https://www.wsps.ca/Information-Resources/Topics/Asbestos.aspx on Sept. 21, 2016.
Technical Assistance: 1-800-267-4414 Technical Assistance: 1-800-267-4414 Customer Service: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577) Customer Service: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577)
Other 3M Sites:
Partner portal
Follow Us
3M, 3M Science. Applied to Life. And other trademarks listed are trademarks of 3M. Used under License in Canada.
Change Location
Canada - English | Français

Une image microscopique d’amiante.

Amiante

Certaines formes de carcinogènes pourraient vous surprendre.

Utilisées pour l’isolation et la protection contre les incendies jusqu’aux années 1970, les fibres naturelles d’amiante sont désormais reconnues comme provoquant des maladies respiratoires. Le matériau est encore présent dans le ciment, les panneaux muraux, les tuyaux, les peintures texturées et les conduits d’air, ce qui fait que les travailleurs sont susceptibles d’y être exposés.

Téléchargez le livre blanc
Heading 1 - (3M rC-58-HTML)

Dangers

Lorsque des matériaux qui contiennent de l’amiante sont altérés, leurs fibres peuvent être libérées dans l’air, ce qui crée un risque potentiel d’exposition.

  • Amiantose

    La fibrose des poumons peut être causée par l’exposition à l’amiante. L’essoufflement et la présence de toux comptent parmi les symptômes de cette maladie. Cette maladie est souvent difficile à diagnostiquer, car les symptômes qui y sont associés sont lents à apparaître.

     

  • Cancer du poumon

    Parmi les personnes exposées à l’amiante, les fumeurs sont davantage susceptibles d’être atteints du cancer du poumon que les non-fumeurs. La combinaison des expositions peut avoir des effets multiplicateurs.

  • Mésothéliome

    Se définit comme le cancer de l’enveloppe des poumons. Ce cancer est majoritairement attribuable à l’exposition à l’amiante. Il apparaît à l’occasion dans les 15 années suivant l’exposition, mais, dans la plupart des cas, il apparaît plus de 30 ans après l’exposition. Le type de l’exposition à l’amiante semble avoir une forte incidence sur le mésothéliome.

  • Une personne en combinaison, un casque de protection, des lunettes de protection et un respirateur qui travaille dans un bâtiment contenant de l’amiante. Il scelle des pellicules en plastique.

    Protection respiratoire contre l’amiante

    Toutes les suggestions de respirateurs contenues aux présentes sont fondées sur des données que nous jugeons dignes de confiance, mais dont l’exactitude ou l’exhaustivité n’est pas garantie. Ces suggestions ne font l’objet d’aucune déclaration, garantie, condition ou autre obligation de la part de 3M ou de ses employés. 3M ne saurait être tenue responsable des pertes et/ou dommages directs, indirects, fortuits, spéciaux ou conséquents découlant de la vente, de l’utilisation ou de la mauvaise utilisation des produits de la Division des produits de protection individuelle de 3M, ou de l’incapacité de l’utilisateur à s’en servir. Aucun respirateur n’est en mesure d’empêcher tous les contaminants en suspension dans l’air de pénétrer dans la zone de respiration de l’utilisateur. Les respirateurs peuvent contribuer à réduire certaines concentrations de contaminants en suspension dans l’air présents dans la zone de respiration sous la limite d’exposition en milieu de travail (OEL)* applicable à votre territoire de compétence. Une mauvaise utilisation des respirateurs peut entraîner une surexposition au contaminant et provoquer des problèmes de santé ou la mort. Il est obligatoire de choisir le bon respirateur, de suivre une formation et d’utiliser le respirateur adéquatement pour que l’utilisateur soit protégé de manière appropriée. Les respirateurs doivent être utilisés et choisis conformément aux exigences de l’autorité compétente de son pays ou de sa province / son territoire. Pour obtenir des recommandations supplémentaires relativement à la sélection des respirateurs appropriés, consulter la norme Z94.4 de l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) ou communiquer avec le Service technique de 3M au 1-800-267-4414

*Limite d’exposition en milieu de travail (OEL) - Les respirateurs doivent être utilisés et choisis conformément aux exigences de l’autorité compétente de son pays ou de sa province / son territoire.

Respirateurs réutilisables - Porter des masques pour respirateurs avec les cartouches ou les filtres appropriés pour assurer la protection de l’utilisateur.


Assistance technique: 1-800-267-4414 Assistance technique: 1-800-267-4414 Service à la clientèle: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577) Service à la clientèle: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577)
Autres Sites de 3M
Portail des partenaires
Suivez-nous
3M, 3M Science. Au service de la vie., E-A-R, Peltor, Optime, Versaflo, Adflo, Vflex et Speedglas sont des marques de commerce de 3M, utilisées sous licence au Canada.
Changement de lieu
Canada - English | Français