Particulate and smoke from welding metal.

Manganese and Hexavalent Chromium

Sparks will fly, but the particulate generated by the vapourization of metal may be harmful to your health. These metal vapours quickly condense, oxidize and form feathery aggregate particles that can be inhaled when not wearing appropriate respiratory protection.

Download the whitepaper
  • A welder who is wearing a 3M™ Speedglas™ Helmet who is working on a piece of metal.

    Stainless Steel

    Welders use many different names when referring to this type of metal: alloy steel, mangalloy steel, mixed steel, inox steel, austenitic stainless steel and may call it coated steel or even galvanized steel (although galvanized steel is covered with zinc oxide where stainless is mixed with chromium to prevent rusting, for example).

    Stainless steel is used in a multitude of different applications in everything from housewares to larger welded items like cars, oil and gas platforms, ships, bridges or water and sewage piping. The hazard to a welder is the fume generated when welding (some of which is visible to the naked eye, and some is not). Two of the most common fume exposures while welding on stainless steel are manganese and hexavalent chromium. Studies estimate that there is a 30 to 40 percent increased risk of some forms of cancer to welders.* 

  • Dangers of Manganese

    Manganese is a common metal used in steel to help promote hardness. Over exposure to manganese while welding may lead to Parkinson’s-like symptoms that may include:

    • Weakness / lethargy

    • Speech disturbances

    • Paralysis (mask-like face, tremors)

    • Psychological disturbance
  • Dangers of Hexavalent Chromium

    Hexavalent Chromium is found in many steel welding electrodes and wires. The welding processes using flux shielding produce a higher ratio of Hexavalent Chromium (Cr+6). Over exposure to this type of Chromium may result in:

    • Lung cancer

    • Irritation or damage to the nose, throat, and lung (respiratory tract)

    • Irritation or damage to the eyes and skin


* Antonini, Critical Reviews in Toxicology - 33(1), 2003

Technical Assistance: 1-800-267-4414 Technical Assistance: 1-800-267-4414 Customer Service: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577) Customer Service: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577)
Other 3M Sites:
Partner portal
Follow Us
3M, 3M Science. Applied to Life. And other trademarks listed are trademarks of 3M. Used under License in Canada.
Change Location
Canada - English | Français

Particules et fumée provenant du soudage du métal.

Manganèse et chrome hexavalent

Les étincelles s’éteignent, mais les particules produites par la vaporisation du métal peuvent être nocives pour votre santé. Ces vapeurs métalliques se condensent rapidement et s’oxydent pour former des amas de particules duveteuses qui peuvent être inhalées lorsqu’on ne porte pas de dispositif de protection respiratoire approprié.

Téléchargez le livre blanc
webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No
  • Un soudeur qui porte un Masque Speedglas(MC) 3M(MC) et qui travaille sur un morceau de métal.

    Acier inoxydable

    Les soudeurs utilisent de nombreux noms différents pour désigner ce type de métal : alliage d’acier, alliage de manganèse, acier mixte, acier inox, acier austénitique et acier enduit ou même acier galvanisé (bien que l’acier galvanisé soit recouvert d’oxyde de zinc et l’acier inoxydable soit mélangé avec du chrome pour prévenir la corrosion).

    L’acier inoxydable est utilisé dans une multitude d’applications différentes, des articles ménagers aux articles soudés de plus grandes dimensions comme les voitures, les plates-formes de forage gazier et pétrolier, les navires, les ponts ou les canalisations d’eau et d’égout. Le danger pour un soudeur sont les fumées produites durant le soudage (dont certaines sont visibles à l’œil nu alors que d’autre ne le sont pas). Les deux fumées les plus couramment dégagées durant le soudage de l’acier inoxydable sont celles de manganèse et de chrome hexavalent. Des études avancent que les soudeurs courrent de 30 à 40 % plus de risque d’être atteints de certains cancers.

  • Dangers associés au manganèse

    Le manganèse est un métal courant ajouté à l’acier pour lui conférer une dureté accrue. Une surexposition au manganèse pendant le soudage peut causer des symptômes identiques à ceux du Parkinson, dont les suivants :

    • Fatigue/léthargie

    • Perturbations du langage

    • Paralysie (absence d’expression faciale, tremblements)

    • Troubles psychologiques
  • Dangers associés au chrome hexavalent

    On trouve du chrome hexavalent dans bon nombre d’électrodes et fils de soudage en acier. Les procédés de soudage dans lesquels on utilise un flux produisent un ratio de chrome hexavalent (Cr+6) plus élevé. Une surexposition à ce type de chrome peut entraîner les troubles suivants :

    • Cancer du poumon

    • Irritation ou dommages au niveau du nez, de la gorge et des poumons (voies respiratoires)

    • Irritation ou dommages au niveau des yeux et de la peau


webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No

* Antonini, Critical Reviews in Toxicology - 33(1), 2003

Assistance technique: 1-800-267-4414 Assistance technique: 1-800-267-4414 Service à la clientèle: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577) Service à la clientèle: 1-800-3M-HELPS (364-3577)
Autres Sites de 3M
Portail des partenaires
Suivez-nous
3M, 3M Science. Au service de la Vie. et toutes les autres marques de commerce indiquées sont des marques de commerce de 3M.
Changement de lieu
Canada - English | Français